Telkom Knockout match report Cape Town City v Kaizer Chiefs 19 October 2019


Chiefs rewarded Leonardo Castro with a starting berth following his Shell Helix Ultra Cup heroics last Saturday as Reeve Frosler returned from injury, with Craig Martin City’s only change.

The Soweto giants were quick out of the starting blocks and missed a penalty when Daniel Cardoso ballooned over the top two minutes to the half-hour mark after Taariq Fielies handled in the area.

The miss ignited spark in City who went in front five minutes later as Kermit Erasmus nestled into the top corner from Thabo Nodada’s looping ball.

Kearyn Baccus was an early casualty for the Glamour Boys following a strong challenge in the middle of the park and was removed for George Maluleka 34 minutes in.

Another injury-enforced change occurred four minutes to half-time, with Bernard Parker stretchered off for the returning Samir Nurkovic. Chiefs made a fast start to the second half, with Maluleka handed a big chance to draw level but he fired over the top.

Daniel Akpeyi had more to do at the other hand, as his triple save after 53 minutes kept Erasmus' double-effort at bay. Erasmus proved telling up front as he set up Makola for a chance on 68 minutes, but the latter rattled the crossbar.

Peter Leeuwenburgh scrambled to keep the Citizens ahead three minutes later with a smart save from Dumisani Zuma’s long range strike.

However, Nurkovic sent the match to extra time as his half-volley proved too strong for Leeuwenburgh seven minutes from the end.

Both sides pushed for the winner in the additional minutes however neither proved successful in either spell, thus sending the match to a penalty shootout.

Two misses from City in the shootout, one being a save from goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, led the Glamour Boys to a 4-2 victory, with Erick Mathoho firing the winning kick to send Chiefs into the last eight.

City: Leeuwenburgh, Martin, Fielies, Edmilson, Kewuti, Mokeke, Nodada, Makola, Ralani, Mayambela, Erasmus

Subs: Stephens, Seedat, Abrahams, Norodien, Roberts, Lakay, Mthembu

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Sasman, Mathoho, Cardoso, Frosler, Katsande, Manyama, Parker, Baccus, Billiat, Castro

Subs: Bvuma, Maluleka, Nurkovic, Zulu, Zuma, Ngezana, Blom