2010 WC Prelim Draw - Asia Qualifying


After the first two rounds of qualifying, 20 teams remain in the hunt for a place in South Africa in 2010. They will now be split into four groups of five teams, who play each other in a round-robin format to determine the top two teams in the group.

The 10 teams that qualify then enter the fourth round, which sees them placed in two groups of five, again competing in a round-robin format. The top two teams in those groups qualify automatically for the finals proper.

The two nations that finish third in the fourth round groups play each other over two legs for fifth place overall. The winner of that tie then moves forward to face the winner of the Oceania region (again over two legs) for a place in South Africa.

The four teams will each feature a nation from one of the pots listed below, with the top seeds in Pot A, second seeds in Pot B etc.

POT AAustraliaKorea RepublicIranSaudi ArabiaJapan

POT BBahrainUzbekistanKuwaitNorth KoreaChina

POT CJordanIraqLebanonOmanUnited Arab Emirates

POT DQatarSyriaThailandTurkmenistanSingapore

MATCH DAYSThe match days for the third round of qualifying are as follows:February 6, 2008March 26, 2008June 7, 2008June 14, 2008September 6, 2008September 10, 2008