Cameroon manager Clarence Seedorf snubs EPL and ES Tunis stars for preliminary AFCON 2019 squad

Liverpool defender Joel Matip has amassed 27 caps
Liverpool defender Joel Matip has amassed 27 caps for the African champions.
Franck Kom has starred for Esperance de Tunis towa
Franck Kom has starred for Esperance de Tunis towards back-to-back CAF African Champions League finals.
Cameroon head coach Clarence Seedorf has made the bold decision to snub two star players for their preliminary 2019 Africa Cup of Nations squad.
Liverpool defender Joel Matip has been overlooked by the Dutchman despite widespread calls in local media for his inclusion after several standout performances for Liverpool this season.
The 27-year-old opted not to represent the African champions after the 2014 FIFA World Cup, citing a 'bad experience' with management and has since been overlooked for squad selection.
However, reports in England have suggested that Seedorf made contact with the players' representatives before announcing his 32-man squad for the continental showpiece in Egypt.
Torino defender Nicholas N'koulou, who scored the winning goal in the 2017 final against The Pharoahs is another player to have turned his back on the nation after the historic title win.
One player who can feel hard done by is Esperance midfield general Franck Kom, who has been one of the standout players for the Tunisian giants since his arrival from German side Karlsruher SC in 2017.
The 27-year-old has been an ever-present figure in their run towards consecutive CAF Champions League finals and is on course for his second league title in a row.
34-man Cameroon Squad in full:
Goalkeepers: Andre Onana (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands),Fabrice Ondoa (Oostende, Belgium),Carlos Kameni (Fenerbahçe, Turkey), Simon Omossola (CotonSport, Cameroon)
Defenders: Collins Fai (Standard Liege, Belgium), Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (Montpellier, France), Banana Yaya (Panionios, Greece), Jerome Onguene (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria), Gaetan Bong (Brighton, England), Jean Armel Kana-Biyik (Kayserispor, Turkey), Dawa Tchakonte (Mariupol), Jeando Fuchs (Sochaux, France)
Midfielders: Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Fulham, England), Georges Mandjeck (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Pierre Kunde Malong (Mainz, Germany), Edgar Salli (Nuremberg, Germany), Arnaud Djoum (Hearts Fc, Scotland), Wilfrid Kaptoum (Betis Sevilla, Spain), Petrus Boumal (Fc Ural, Russia), Ramses Akono (Eding Sport, Cameroon)
Forwards: Fabrice Olinga (Mouscron, Belgium), Vincent Aboubakar (Porto, Portugal), Stephane Bahoken (Angers, France), Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting (PSG, France), Karl Toko Ekambi (Villareal, Spain), Paul-Georges Ntep (Wolfsburg, Germany), Moumi Ngamaleu (Young Boys, Switzerland), Jacques Zoua (Astra, Romania), Clinton Njie (Marseille, France), Christian Bassogog (Henan, China), Joel Tagueu (Maritimo, Portugal), Olivier Boumal (Panionos, Greece), Jean Pierre Nsame (Young Boys, Switzerland), Edgar Salli (Nuremberg, Germany)