2019 AFCON qualifiers kicking off


It is just six weeks since Cameroon were crowned African champions in Gabon but qualifiers for the next biennial tournament are already set to get in motion.  

Sao Tome and Principe (ranked 151) will get going against Madagascar (137) on Wednesday before they clash again in Antananarivo on Sunday.

The aggregate winner of this tie will then proceed to play in Group A which has Senegal, Equatorial Guinea and Sudan.

Also starting out on Wednesday will be the worst ranked team in these qualifiers Djibouti (205) who will be at home to South Sudan (167), with the two teams then meeting again in the return leg next Tuesday.

Whoever finishes victorious over the two legs will then join Group C which has Mali, Gabon and Burundi.

The last preliminary tie pits Indian Ocean island rivals Comoros (142) and Mauritius (146).

They will play in the Comoros' northwest town of Mitsamiouli on Friday before crossing over to Mauritius on Tuesday for the second leg with the winner going into Group B featuring Cameroon, Morocco and Malawi – who have however indicated that they are pulling out due to financial problems.

All the 12 group winners along with three best runners-up and hosts Cameroon qualify for the 2019 tournament.

The group stages of qualifying start in June and conclude in November next year.

Bafana Bafana are in Group E with Libya, Nigeria and Seychelles.