2019 AFCON: South Africa drawn alongside Morocco and Ivory Coast in Group D for continental showpiece


In the 32nd edition of AFCON and the first expanded version from 16-teams, 24 of Africa's finest nations were pitted in four seeded pots from the initial 51 teams who entered the qualification process back in 2017.

Hosts Egypt in Group A have paired alongside, Zimbabwe, Uganda and DR Congo, while Stuart Baxter's side, who went unbeaten throughout the qualification process is pitted amongst Namibia, Ivory Coast and the Atlas Lions.

Champions Cameroon, who were stripped from the hosting rights of the tournament before The Pharoes were awarded the rights will face Ghana, Benin and Guinea Bissau.

There are three tournament debutants in the form of Madagascar, Burundi and Mauritania - all of whom have received mammoth tasks of progressing from their respective groups.

AFCON 2019 draw in full:

Group A: Egypt, Zimbabwe, Uganda, DR Congo

Group B: Burundi, Madagascar, Guinea, Nigeria

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Namibia, South Africa, Ivory Coast, Morocco

Group E: Angola, Mauritania, Mali, Tunisia

Group F: Guinea-Bissau, Benin, Ghana, Cameroon

The prestigious tournament kicks off on 21 June until 19 July another first as they moved away from the traditional January to February dates.