Amajita coach Thabo Senong names South Africa U-20 World Cup squad


The tournament takes place from 20 May to 11 June in South Korea.

Senong has kept the bulk of the squad that went to the CAF U-20 Africa Cup of Nations in Zambia where South Africa finished fourth earlier this year.

Only four players of the 21-man squad were not at the tournament – defenders Malebogo Modise and Shane Saralina as well as midfielders Thabo Cele and Masilake Phohlongo.

Senong has called up only three players from overseas – Cele, Luther Singh and Liam Jordan (all from Portugal).

Seven of the players in the current U-20 squad were part of the South Africa U-17 team (Amajimbos) that took part in the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Chile – Sanele Tshabalala, Mondli Mpoto, Khulekani Kubheka, Thendo Mukumela, Reeve Frosler, Wiseman Meyiwa, Sibongakonke and Kobamelo Kodisang.

“We are humbled to represent our country in the greatest showpiece in the world. We wish to thank the clubs for releasing players in the preparation phase. I believe we have selected a balanced team of players that suit our game model and philosophy. Competing in the World Cup event will be demanding physically and mentally,” said Senong.

“Our players possess good technique with an excellent tactical application.  We are drawn against tough teams in our group. With good team ethics and hard work, I believe that we can surprise our opponents. I have great faith in this group of players that we can really make this a memorable World Cup tournament.”

South Africa will be based in Suwon, also known as ‘The City of Filial Piety’.

Twenty-four teams from six confederations will participate in the 21st edition of the Junior World Cup, which will be spread across six different venues.

Amajita’s first match at the tournament will be against Japan on Sunday, 21 May at Suwon World Cup Stadium. Kick-off is at 17h00 local time in South Korea (10h00 SA Ttme – Korea Republic is seven hours ahead of South Africa).

The next clash sees them square off against Italy at the same venue three days later (Wednesday, 24 May) with a 13h00 SA time kick-off (20h00 local time).

For their third and final group stage match, the South Africans will move to Incheon to take on South Americans, Uruguay on Saturday, 27 May at Incheon Football Stadium, also at 13h00 SA time.

This is the third time South Africa has qualified for the FIFA U-20 World Cup – the first time was back in 1997, led by former Bafana Bafana coach Ephraim 'Shakes' Mashaba when they were knocked out in the group stages.

The squad made its return to the showpiece in 2009 with head coach Serame Letsoaka – they made the last 16 but lost out 2-1 to Ghana after extra time.

SAFA president Danny Jordaan is confident Senong's charges can make an impact at the event.

“Due to CAF and FIFA commitments I am unable to join you for this big day when the final squad going to the FIFA World Cup is announced. But go out there and do your best. You are fortunate to be going to a huge tournament; it will make you grow as professional players – the future of South African football is very bright,” said Jordaan.

“This is your chance to write your names in the history books. Some of you have played in the U-17 World Cup, now you are going to the U-20 World Cup, next will be the 2020 Olympics and by the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, you will have a lot of experience and wont go there to make up the numbers. This can only indicate that SAFA’s 'Vision 2022' is alive and well. All the best in South Korea, go and make us proud.”

Amajita have just returned from a training camp in Europe where they played three practice matches – against VFL Bochum of Germany, a select Ajax Amsterdam squad as well as PEC Zwolle.

The South Africans depart for South Korea on Wednesday, 10 May.

They have lined up an international friendly match against Costa Rica on Monday, 15 May at Incheon Stadium. Kick-off is at 17h00 local time.

1.     Sanele Tshabalala     Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
3.     Mondli Mpoto     Supersport United FC (SA)
4.     Khulekani Kubheka     Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
4.     Malebogo Modise     Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
5.     Thendo Mukumela     Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
6.     Tercious Malepe     Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
7.     Shane Saralina     Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
8.     Sandile Mthethwa     Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
9.     Reeve Frosler     Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10.     Sipho Mbule     Supersport United FC (SA)
11.     Wiseman Meyiwa     Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
12.     Sibongakonke Mbatha     Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
13.     Kobamelo Kodisang     Platinum Stars FC (SA)
14.     Luther Singh                                     Sporting Braga (Portugal)
15.     Grant Margeman     Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
16.     Thabo Cele     Benfica FC (Portugal)
17.     Teboho Mokoena     Supersport United FC (SA)
18.     Masilakhe Phohlongo     Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
19.     Phakamani Mahlambi     Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
20.     Liam Jordan     Sporting Lisbon FC (Portugal)
21     Keletso Makgalwa     Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)


vs Japan

Sunday, 21 May 2017

17h00 (10H00 SA Time)

Suwon World Cup Stadium

vs Italy

Wednesday, 24 May 2017

20h00 (13h00 SA Time)

Suwon World Cup Stadium

vs Uruguay

Saturday, 27 May 2017

20h00 (13h00 SA Time)

Incheon World Cup Stadium