European-laden Guinea-Bissau ready for Bafana Bafana clash


Djurtus - African Wild Dog - as the West Africans are nicknamed, made their maiden appearance at the finals played in Gabon, finishing bottom of Group A with a single point after a draw and two defeats.

Though they held the tournament hosts to a draw in the opening game, they went on to succumb to both to ultimate winners Cameroon and third place play-off winners Burkina Faso.

Guinea-Bissau play Bafana Bafana at Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday (15h00).

As a former Portugal colony, most of the players in their national team are based in Portugal which is where they flew in from on Wednesday evening.

Guinea-Bissau merely assembled at the airport in Lisbon, Portugal on Tuesday then flew to Zurich, Switzerland from where they connected to Johannesburg before proceeding to Durban. 

They held their first training session at the Princess Magogo Stadium on Thursday and will have a feel of the match venue at Moses Mabhida on Friday afternoon ahead of the game on the weekend.

“We had a long journey of about 30 hours, but we should be ready,” Joao Siao, the assistant coach tells following their arrival in Durban.

“We expect a tough game full of difficult situations against a team with a lot of resources, but we will also put in our qualities and make it a good match. For us we need this game for the sake of preparing for the 2019 Afcon qualifiers as we are in a group that has Namibia, Mozambique and Zambia – all teams from this region,” notes Siao, who joined Djurtus five months ago ahead of the Afcon finals having previously been a co-ordinator with the Benfica youth teams.

Siao – who speaks English – is assistant to Baciro Cande and Zezinho (Jose Luis Mendes Lopes) is their captain.

The seven players who were at the Afocn finals that have not travelled to South Africa are Jonas, Emanuel, Eridson, Bocundji, Frederic, Sami and Idrissa.

The two players who were not in Gabon that have been added are Sene Dabo and Sori Mone.

Despite the challenges faced by this West African country, all of their players are based in Europe.

Goalkeepers: Papa Masse Fall M’baye (Agua Dulce, Spain), Rui Suleimane Camara Dabo (Cova Piedade, Portugal)

Defenders: Sori Mane (SC Olhanense, Portugal), Tomas Soares Dabo (SC Faranse, Portugal), Rudnilson Brito Silva (FK Utenis Utena, Lithuania), Juary Marinho Soares (Mafra, Portugal), Agosthino Soares (Sporting Covilhao, Portugal), Piqueti Djassi Brito Silva (Braga B, Portugal), Muhammad Youssuf Cande (unattached)

Midfielders: Sene Dabo (Clube Operario Desportivo, Portugal), Lassana Camara (Academico Viseu, Portugal), Jose Luis Mendes Lopes (Levadiakos, Greece), Francisco Santos da Silva Junior (Stomsgodset, Norway), Nanissio Justino Mendes (Felgueiras, Portugal), Brito Silva Toni (Levadiakos, Greece), Aldair Adulai Djalo Balde (Olhanense, Portugal)

Strikers: Abel Issa Camara (Belenenses, Portugal), Joao Mario Nunes (Chaves, Portugal).