Mamelodi Sundowns bolstering CAF Champions League squad


Competition rules state that clubs may register a maximum of 30 players. They can register any number before the January 15 deadline and then complete the quota in a second registration window which starts two weeks before the beginning of the group phase up and lasts until August 5.

Sundowns registered 25 players before the first deadline, leaving five places for mid-year additions.

They have since added goalkeeper Thela Ngobeni in a move that was forced upon them by injury and suspension ahead of their last match against Enyimba when Denis Onyango was banned and Kennedy Mweene injured, leaving no cover for Wayne Sandilands. Ordinarily clubs try to avoid registering too many goalkeepers.

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane said one of the remaining spots would be taken by the new Brazilian signing Ricardo Nascimento, effectively leaving three more vacancies for any new signings over the next month.

They cannot, however, replace departing players and have seen from their original list the exit of Katlego Mashego, Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Bongani Zungu.

Sundowns' Champions League roster:
1-Kennedy Mweene
2-Thabo Nthethe
4-Tebego Langerman
5-Asavela Mbekile
6-Wayner Arendse
7-Keagan Dolly
8-Hlompho Kekana
9-Katlego Mashego
10-Teko Modise
11-Mogakolodi Ngele
12-Wayne Sandilands
13-Denis Onyango
14-Surprise Moriri
15-Tiyani Mabunda
16-Ramahlwe Mphahlele
18-Themba Zwane
19-Mzikayise Mashaba
20-Khama Billiat
21-Siyanda Zwane
24-Bongani Zungu
25-Leandro Castro
26-Rheece Evans
27-Cuthbert Malajila
28-Anthony Laffor
29-Bangaly Soumahoro
30-Thela Ngobeni