Changes to year-end prize money for individuals


The changes as announced by Absa sponsorship manager Desire Pooe will see the Players’ Player of the Year taking home R150 000, with the Player of the Year receiving the same amount.

The Goalkeeper of the Season will walk away with R50 000 while the Coach of the Season award this season be pushed up from R50 000 to R75 000. Last season’s winner was Muhsin Ertugral, who was head coach of Ajax Cape Town at the time.

The Absa-lutely Awesome goal scorer (Goal of the Season) will win R50 000, while the Premiership’s top scorer will take home the same amount.

There is extra incentive allocated to the Player of the Year if he is an Absa account holder. The Bank will pay the interest on his home loan.

Other incentives are for top goal scorer, who like in the past season will only pick up a prize if he has scored 15 goals; up to 20 goals he gets R50 000. The 20-25 goal haul see the prize go up to R75 000 and 26 or more nets him R100 000.