Clubs boycott PSL meeting?


"The meeting has been adjourned due to the fact that we lacked the means to form a quorum,” PSL chairman Irvin Khoza said. "Eleven PSL and six from the National First Division were in attendance."

Eight teams from each division would've made a quorum.

The Absa Premiership teams that did not attend were Ajax Cape Town, Jomo Cosmos, Moroka Swallows, Mamelodi Sundowns and Thanda Royal Zulu, while Bay United, FC Cape Town, Ikapa Sporting, Maritzburg United, Durban Stars, Garankuwa United, Winners Park, University of Pretoria, Witbank Spurs and Western Province United from the First Division were also not in attendence.

Khoza expressed his disappointment with the absentees.

"The fact that it was the First Division teams were not well represented today does not go down well with myself and the other members, precisely because it is the relegation and promotion matter that we wanted to highlight most in this meeting.

"A resolution was taken to discuss the matter in the last meeting of the Board of Governors, and this – according to the resolution, has to be deliberated upon or before the 31st December 2007."

Khoza also insinuated that there had been a member of the League who had instigated other members not to attend the meeting, a matter which will be investigated.

"One member of the League has engaged in an exercise of sabotage by making phone calls to clubs with the intention of urging them not to attend today's meeting.

"This will be investigated further by the Executive Committee, a process through which we hope we will get answers."

Whether the ‘sabotage’ mentioned by Khoza has anything to do with the sponsorship commissions row that has seen the likes of Ajax Cape Town boss John Comitis, among others, slam Khoza and the PSL executive is unclear.