Ertugral key to Ajax-Chiefs' cup clash


Kick off is at 20h00.

The Urban Warriors claimed their second top flight cup title in May last year when they defeated Mamelodi Sundowns at the coastal city, but the current league leaders know that they will need to be at their best to defeat Kaizer Chiefs and former coach Muhsin Ertugral.

The Amakhosi may have had a poor season on the league front thus far, but they have already won the league cup this season and Ertugral’s well-known ability to bring out the best in his team when it comes to cup ties could be the key to this encounter.

However, Ajax have defeated their opponents on the two occasions they met in this competition in the past.

In 2002/03 the Cape side put Chiefs out of the tournament in the second round, winning 5-4 on post match penalties after the game had ended goalless, and in 2003/04 they won the match outright, again in the second round.

The teams met on March 1 in a league game at Athlone Stadium that ended honours even at 1-1, although Ajax were lucky to escape with a point when David Obua missed a late penalty for Chiefs.

That match suggested that there is little to separate the teams when they meet and head-to-head statistics back that up: 23 matches in all competitions have each side with seven wins apiece and 23 goals both scored and conceded.

1999/2000Chiefs 1 (Khumalo) Ajax 2 (Modise, Oliver)Ajax 1 (Scott) Chiefs 0

2000/01Chiefs 0 Ajax 0Ajax 3 (Mabedi (og), Augustine, Permall) Chiefs 2 (Nomvete, Illodigwe)

BP Top 8 Semi Final – Chiefs 0 Ajax 3 (Makasa, Pienaar, Scott)

2001/02Ajax 2 (Kannemeyer, Lechesa) Chiefs 1 (Sithole)Chiefs 3 (Richards,Mabedi (pen), Fredericks) Ajax 1 (Dinha)

2002/03Chiefs 1 (Fredericks) Ajax 1 (Paulse)Ajax 0 Chiefs 2 (Fredericks, Musasa)

Coca Cola Cup semi final – Ajax 0 Chiefs 1 (Fredericks)

ABSA Cup 2nd round – Ajax 0 Chiefs 0 – Ajax won 5-4 on penalties

2003/04Chiefs 1 (Dlamini) Ajax 0Ajax 0 Chiefs 0

Coca Cola Cup quarter final – Chiefs 3 (Zwane, Radebe, Mayo) Ajax 2 (Mugeyi, Zibi)

ABSA Cup 2nd Round – Chiefs 0 Ajax 1 (Mugeyi)

2004/05Chiefs 2 (Zwane 2) Ajax 2 (Fanteni, Dlangudlangu)Ajax 1 (Shumana) Chiefs 2 (Mbesuma, Radebe)

2005/06Chiefs 0 Ajax 0Ajax 2 (Paulse, Mulekelayi) Chiefs 2 (Nzama, Mototo)

2006/07Ajax 0 Chiefs 0Chiefs 1 (Nkosi) Ajax 0

2007/08Chiefs 0 Ajax 1 (Mwafulirwa)Ajax 1 (Paulse) Chiefs 1 (Motaung Jr)

Show Comments ()