First five Ballon d'Or nominees announced by France Football: Real Madrid's Gareth Bale included


The list is compiled by the editorial staff of France Football publication, with the winner voted for by journalists from around the world, with one representative per nation.

For six years it combined with world football's governing body to become the Fifa Ballon d'Or but Fifa ended its association with the award in September 2016.

At Fifa's awards in September, Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric was named the world's best male player.

Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero, Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson, Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema and Paris St-Germain attacker Edinson Cavani are amongst the five announced nominees.

While the rest of the 30-man list of nominees will be revealed throughout the day.

The ceremony to announce the winner will take place in Paris on 3 December, when a women's award will be presented for the first time.

2008 - Cristiano Ronaldo
2009 - Lionel Messi
2010 - Lionel Messi
2011 - Lionel Messi
2012 - Lionel Messi
2013 - Cristiano Ronaldo
2014 - Cristiano Ronaldo
2015 - Lionel Messi
2016 - Cristiano Ronaldo
2017 - Cristiano Ronaldo