Kalusha Bwalya is new FAZ president


Kalusha will be deputised by former teammate both at the national team and Mufulira Wanderers, Emmanuel Munaile, while MTN Zambia accountant Boniface Mwamelo is the new treasurer.

New committee members are Lenny Nkhuwa, Violet Bwalya, Marcha Chilemena, Keagan Chipango.

Henschel Chitembeya and Pivoty Simwanza also bounced back into the FAZ committee during the election held at Lusaka's Mulungushi International Conference Centre.

Kalusha polled a runaway 120 votes against former president Mulonga’s 66 while Adams, who owns Super Division Lusaka Dynamos FC, got a paltry 11.

“While this election has signalled the end of an era and the beginning of another - a new era that is set to revolutionise our game and take us to a new and higher level that we so desire - we must remain united for the good of the game,” Kalusha said to a round of applause in his inaugural speech.

“This is a time for healing,” he said in view of the pre-election campaign talk that could have left some hurt.“Eyes on the ball,” he declared in what he said would be his motto in the next four years.

“This has been without doubt a hotly-contested election. Like in football, there will always be a winner and a loser.

“To my executive, the time for rhetoric is over and the time for hard work is now upon us,” Kalusha said.

He was lifted shoulder-high as his supporters popularised his “eyes on the ball” motto.

The situation was tense before and during elections as councillors were tight-lipped on their choice but they came out openly after the elections.

Both Mulonga, who was the incumbent and Adams were gracious in defeat.

“It’s been a fair election. The people have spoken,”Mulonga said.

“I hope the new executive will fulfil their campaign promises for the development of Zambian football. I am54 years and I do not see myself standing in 2012,”Adams said.

Only Kalusha and Chitembeya have bounced back from the previous executive.

Munaile, who is also Malole independent member of Parliament and former FAZ executive committee member, got 73 votes against Joseph Nkole (39), Andre Mtine (29), Giles Yambayamba (28) and Simataa Simataa (27).

Former FAZ executive committee member Simwanza polled 100 together with Nkhuwa.

Chilemena had 89 votes, Chitembeya 69, Bwalya 64 and Chipango 63 to wrap up the team expected to lead FAZ for the next four years.

National Sports Council of Zambia board member, Elliot Mhende, announced the results.

Show Comments ()