Metropolitan U-19 Premier Cup 2019: Highlands Park down Mamelodi Sundowns to be crowned champions


Highlands Park defeated Mamelodi Sundowns in the final of the Metropolitan U-19 Premier Cup to lift the title for the first time in the club's history.

The Lions of the North were duly crowned champions of the prestigious youth tournament as one of the most consistent sides over the six day festival which began on Wednesday, 17 April.

After finishing as Group G winners with seven points (2W, 1D) alongside Hellenic, Nova National and Santos - the talented crop of youngster met Grassy Park United - whom they dispatched 2-0 in the round of 16.

A 3-2 win over crowd-favourites Ajax Cape Town followed in the quarter-final before a convincing 3-0 win over AmaTUKS.

This booked them with a place in the final with 2009 winners Masandawana, who've reached the final in three consecutive 'Bayhill' tournaments.

The Final

Downs, who were equally impressive going unbeaten en route to the final were left shocked as one of the standout players of the tournament, Marate Ndieguene, netted his fourth of the tournmanet after Glen Baatjies conceded a penalty on the brink of half-time.

The Senegalese winger was a constant menace throughout but the Tshwane giants managed to claw their way back into the game as Mike Mazini's side switched up tactically with good effect, as Tlotlego Pitso found a late equaliser in the second-half.

After an enthralling end-to-end extra-time period between the two sides, neither could be seperated and the Johannesburg-based outfit reigned supreme 5-3 in the dreaded penalty shout-outs.


Plate-winners: PPG Langa

Mid-section winners: Ajax Cape Town

Team of the Tournament: Highlands Park

Player of the Tournament: Thapelo Mokomele (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Goalkeeper of the Tournament: Glen Baadjies (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Top goal-scorer: Kgotso Motloheloa (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Manager of the Tournament: Andre Peter (Ajax Cape Town)

Coach of the Tournament: Owen Sutton (Highlands Park)
Most Promising Amateur Team: Silver Spurs