MTN8 match report Orlando Pirates v Swallows FC 14 August 2021


Defending champions Orlando Pirates bowed out of the MTN8 with a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Swallows FC at Orlando Stadium.

Pirates were without Innocent Maela, Paseka Mako, Tshegofatso Mabasa, Thembinkosi Lorch and Zakhele Lepasa, with Vincent Pule, Bongani Sam, Abel Mabaso, Kabelo Dlamini and Tebogo Tlolane given starts.

Swallows took the lead with a quarter of an hour gone. George Matlou won a free-kick after a Fortune Makaringe foul. Ruzaigh Gamildien stepped up to strike the free-kick from an inside left position and he beat Richard Ofori with a low strike.

Gamildien completed his brace in the 23rd minute. A long ball over the top by Swallows was intercepted by Ofori but the goalkeeper dallied on the ball outside the box, was tackled by Dillon Solomons and it fell for Gamildien to score to chip the ball into an empty net from 35 yards out.

Pirates won a penalty on the half-hour mark when Virgil Vries came out with his feet and took out Deon Hotto and ball. The referee pointed to the penalty spot and it was Kabelo Dlamini who fired the spot-kick into the bottom right-hand corner to the goalkeeper's left to pull a goal back for the Buccaneers.

There weren't any chances to speak of in the first 15 minutes of the first half after Pirates had brought on Happy Jele and Bandile Shandu for Bongani Sam and Wayde Jooste respectively at half-time.

In the 62nd minute, Hotto showed great tenacity and directness down the left for Pirates and fired a cross low cross into the box. Pule diverted the ball towards goal with a backheel but it lacked power and was straight at Vries.

Pirates went close again five minutes later. Shandu played a nice ball over the top for Hotto's run and the Namibian controlled with his chest but put his shot wide under pressure from Wandisile Letlabika.

Abel Mabaso then sent the ball wide to Shandu and the debutant pulled the ball back for his former Maritzburg United teammate Makaringe but the latter got poor contact on his shot and it didn't trouble Vries.

Confirmed line-ups:

Pirates: Ofori, Hlatshwayo, Nyauza, Jooste, Sam, Mabaso, Makaringe, Dlamini, Hotto, Pule, Tlolane.

Subs: Mpontshane, Mthethwa, Dzvukamanja, Mntambo, Shandu, Mosele, Ndlovu, Mhango, Jele

Swallows: Vries, Letlabika, Sait, Mere, Matlaba, Matlou, Nyatama, Ndlovu, Mokoena, Solomons, Gamildien.

Subs: February, Sibiya, Mhlongo, Mohamme, Mbokoma, Khupe, Makgalwa, Wambi, Saleng.