PSL big three to decide MTN8 this year


The PSL has confirmed that the draw will be held tonight (20h30) and aired live on SuperSport.

As has been the trend through the years the two semi-finals will be played over two legs.

Since mobile telecommunications company MTN took over the sponsorship of the competition in 2008, only once have all the big three been in the semis.

This happened in 2011 when Chiefs, Pirates, and Sundowns were joined by Ajax Cape Town.

Chiefs overcame Ajax to meet Pirates – who had overcome Sundowns in the other semi-finals – in the final which was then won by The Bucs at FNB Stadium courtesy of Oupa Manyisa’s pile driver which beat a bemused Itumeleng Khune.

This year the big three are joined by AmaZulu.

What this means is that two of the Big Three could be in the final but one of them is guaranteed regardless of what happens in the last four.

A final involving Chiefs - especially when played out of Gauteng - will guarantee the sponsors a full house regardless of the opponent.  

Chiefs – who last won this trophy in 2014 – remain the most successful club in the history of this competition which stretches back to 1972 with 15 titles while Pirates have won it 10 times.

Sundowns are in third place having won it on four occasions but are the defending champions.

Strangely, only three finals have involved two of the big three since MTN8 took over.

Chiefs won against Sundowns in 2008 then lost to Pirates three years later before they returned as champions in 2014 after overcoming The Bucs.