PSL confirms MTN8 semi-final fixtures


Following the conclusion of the MTN8 quarterfinals over the past weekend, the PSL has confirmed details for the last four of the competition.

As is tradition the semi-finals will be played over two legs with the first leg scheduled for the weekend of August 28-29 while the second leg will be played four weeks later at the end of September.

READ | Mabunda earns new role at Downs

DStv Premiership champions Mamelodi Sundowns play Golden Arrows while Cape Town City will face Swallows in the other tie.

Arrows will be the hosts on August 28 (15:00) at Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium.

The next day Cape Town City will welcome Swallows to the Athlone Stadium in another afternoon (15:00) kick-off.

A month will then pass before the second leg matches are played on midweek matchday dates.

The Brazilians will face Arrows on September 28 at the Lucas Moripe Stadium (18:00).

Twenty-four hours later Swallows take on City at Dobsonville Stadium in another evening match (18:00).

At stake will be R8 million.

Of the four semi-finalists the most recent winners are Cape Town City who won it in 2018.

Arrows were champions in 2009 and for all the success that Sundowns have enjoyed over the last decade they have not won this trophy under the MTN sponsorship.

They last won it in 2008 when SAA were the financial backers.

The old Moroka Swallows were winners in 2012.

Scroll right to see the Mamelodi Sundowns' exit list ahead of the 2021/22 season