STATS | Kaizer Chiefs will attempt to break their trophy drought at the 26th attempt against Mamelodi Sundowns

The last time that Kaizer Chiefs tasted trophy suc
The last time that Kaizer Chiefs tasted trophy success Stuart Baxter was the coach six years ago
Mamelodi Sundowns' most recent trophy triumph was
Mamelodi Sundowns' most recent trophy triumph was at the end of last season when they won the DSTv Premiership moving tops in the list of trophies won in the PSL era years
Stuart Baxter will be hoping to bring back the smi
Stuart Baxter will be hoping to bring back the smiles to the AmaKhosi faithful having already warmed up by lifting the Carling Black Label

Kazier Chiefs’ chase for silverware will go up to 26 when they make the short trip to Tshwane to face Mamelodi Sundowns in the quarterfinals of the MTN8 on Sunday afternoon.

Since being crowned league champions in the 2014/15 season, Chiefs have gone on to fire blanks in 25 editions of the six competitions that they have been involved in.

READ | Mngqithi: Baxter coming out guns blazing

This has led to their longest ever wait for silverware, which is now entering a seventh season, surpassing the half-century mark of trophies that they have competed for since they last walked away as winners.

A massive 25 trophies have slipped through their fingers and the latest MTN8 version will be number 26.

For all the pride that AmaKhosi have about their history what has happened in recent times has dragged their ego through the mud and will be hoping not to feel any further salt on their fresh wounds.

Not only have they failed to lift the league in the last six years they have also come short in all the domestic competitions from the MTN8 (five times), Telkom KnockOut (five times) and the Nedbank Cup (six times).  

Their best in the MTN8 through their drought was being runners-up in 2015 which they matched in the Telkom the same year and were also losing finalists in the 2019 Nedbank Cup.

READ | Baxter: We want to knock Downs off their perch

Through their barren spell, they have also competed on the continent twice with their best showing coming last season when they lost in the CAF Champions League final to Al Ahly.

Chiefs have had to wait so long that they have been forced to bring back the man they secured their last trophy under – Stuart Baxter.

In the period sandwiched by Baxter's two spells, Steve Komphela, Giovanni Solinas, Ernst Middendorp and Gavin Hunt all failed to deliver a trophy to Naturena.

They lost in the first round in the 2016 Champions League and were bundled out in the play-off of the Confederations Cup in the 2018/19 competition.

What has also hurt for Chiefs is that Sundowns have since overtaken them going up to 21 trophies in the PSL era years while Chiefs remain stuck on 20.

Eleven of the trophies that The Brazilians have won have come been in the period when AmaKhosi have had nothing to show.

Scroll through the gallery below to see Kaizer Chiefs' new home and away kits