Nedbank Cup match report Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila v Chippa United 08 May 2021


 Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila were crowned Nedbank Cup champions on Saturday evening with a 1-0 win over Chippa United.

Vhadau vhadamani made just one change from the midweek win over Kaizer Chiefs as Alfred Ndengane returned in place of Ayanda Nkili, while Chippa welcomed back Thamsanqa Sangweni in midfield.

Loads of space through the middle and out wide materialised for Tshakhuma early on and Thabo Rakhale looked to utilise the situation with a curling strike, but he just couldn’t profit.

With the game opening up, Vhadau vhadamani made the breakthrough on 27 minutes after a long-range shot from Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo deflected past goalkeeper Rashid Watenga.

Chippa began to push forward late in the first half and almost had the leveller through Thabiso Lebitso, but the latter dragged wide from a tight angle in the six-yard area.

The Chilli Boys still applied loads of pressure in the latter stages to halftime, but Tshakhuma remained tight to head into the break in front.

Vhadau vhadamani emerged for the second half desperate to add a second goal and it nearly came through Lerato Lamola, but he send Rakhale’s low cross into the area straight at Watenga.

Tshakhuma were presented another chance from a loose pass by Watenga ten minutes following resumption, but Celimpilo Ngema drilled the effort over the top.

With Chippa chasing down their counterparts, Vhadau vhadamani added additional firepower off the bench midway in the second half in the form of Tokelo Rantie for Lamola.

The Chilli Boys continued to chase shadows late on though Tshakhuma nearly had a second through substitute Brandon Theron but after working an angle following a counter-attack, he dragged wide.

Vhadau vhadamani maintained the lion share of chances two minutes from time as a powerful shot from Thabo Mnyamane forced stunning reflexes from Watenga.

Tshakhuma managed to run down the closing minutes to collect a 1-0 win and their first Nedbank Cup crown.

Confirmed line-ups:

Tshakuma: Arubi, Thopola, Ravhuhali, Ndengane, Nonyane, Rakhale, Ndlondlo, Timm, Mnyamane, Ngema, Lamola.

Subs: Mamudzidi, Malongoane, Madhanaga, Manaka, Nevhulamba, Nkili, Rantie, Theron, Lukhubeni.

Chippa: Watenga, Nsabiyumva, Mobbie, Lebitso, Hanamub, Mthethwa, Lentjies, Sangweni, Mokhele, Mdlinzo, Kwem.

Subs: Mtshali, Nhlapo, Sibeko, Konqobe, Maloisane, Damons, Jodwana, Laffor, Eva Nga.