Parreira names Paraguay selection


Announcing the selection after the 2-1 victory over Zimbabwe on Tuesday, Parreira has recalled the Blackburn Rovers duo of Benni McCarthy and captain Aaron Mokoena, as well as overseas stars Nasief Morris, Tsepo Masilela, Lance Davids, Steven Pienaar and Thembinkosi Fanteni.

But he has also stuck with the bulk of the PSL players who featured against the Zimbabweans, such as Bongani Khumalo, Thulasizwe Mbunyane, Sthembiso Ngcobo and Bafo Biyela.

The coach explains it is all part of his desire to give as much international exposure to as many players as possible before he begins to streamline his selections ahead of the 2009 Confederations Cup – the nucleus of the squad that will in all likelihood go to the 2010 World Cup.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Moeneeb Josephs (BidVest Wits)

Defenders: Aaron Mokoena (Blackburn Rovers, England), Bongani Khumalo (Supersport United), Mokete Tsotsetsi (Kaizer Chiefs), Bryce Moon (Ajax Cape Town), Nasief Morris (Panathinaikos, Greece), Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Innocent Mdledle (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Lance Davids (Djurgardens, Sweden), Thulasizwe Mbunyane (Free State Stars), Steven Pienaar (Everton, England), Surprise Moriri (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Golden Arrows), Bafo Biyela (AmaZulu), Bernard Parker (Thanda Royal Zulu), Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs), Sthembiso Ngcobo (Free State Stars)

Strikers: Excellent Walaza (Orlando Pirates), Thembinkosi Fanteni (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Benni McCarthy (Blackburn Rovers, England)