Absa Premiership match report Highlands Park vs Polokwane City 27 April 2019

Highlands Park
Highlands Park

Polokwane City bounced back from the defeat to Bloemfontein Celtic to defeat Highlands Park 2-0 in the Absa Premiership on Saturday afternoon.

Highlands started with five changes in Bevan Fransman, Mlungisi Mbunjana, Lindokuhle Mbatha, Enocent Mkhabela and Tendai Ndoro to City’s three in Ayanda Nkili, Walter Musona and Charlton Mashumba.

After a positive opening, Highlands threatened the opener 13 minutes in as Mbatha’s curler from outside the area cracked the woodwork.

Advantage though went to City as on the half-hour mark, Musona drilled a low shot beyond Marlon Heugh after Sello Motsepe failed to clear their lines.

In the final quarter, the Lions of the North pressed for an equaliser but strenuous defending put City in front at the break.

No changes ensued at the break from either side, with the visitors off to a pacey start, posing questions left, right and centre.

Highlands made the first change on 59 minutes, bringing on Jabulani Shongwe for Mbatha in search of the come back.

With City relentless in defence, the Limpopo side looked to shore up the result with the substitution of Mohammed Anas for Mashumba who was unable to continue after 72 minutes.

The change brought a riveting effect, as City increased their tally after Tlolane dummied his marker 76 minutes in for an easy finish past Heugh.

Highlands nearly grabbed a response in the final 10 minutes, but George Chigova’s one-handed save kept out Shongwe, with Nicolas Motloung clearing the follow-up to safety.

The hosts kept pushing for a late come back, but City locked the gates to all but seal their top eight spot


Highlands: Heugh, Fransman, Ramoraka, Mokoena, Motsepe, Mbatha, Mbunjana, Mahlangu, Ndoro, Mkhabela, Shalulile.

Subs: Peters, Haoseb, Seema, Komane, Williams, Shongwe, Nyembe.

Polokwane: Chigova, Mvelase, Nkili, Motloung, Mbonani, Musona, Phiri, Manaka, J.Maluleke, Tlolane, Mashumba.

Subs:  Phali, Anas, Maponyane, Mgomezulu,  W. Maluleke, Seabi, Mphambaniso.