Absa Premiership match report Kaizer Chiefs v Golden Arrows 23 April 2019

Kaizer Chiefs
Kaizer Chiefs

Kaizer Chiefs and Golden Arrows played to a 1-1 draw in their Absa Premiership encounter at FNB Stadium on Tuesday evening.

Ernst Middendorp made wholesale changes to the team that defeated Chippa United in Nedbank Cup semi-finals, with goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi returning in goal while Hendrick Ekstein returned to plug the creative gap left by Khama Billiat and Kabelo Mahlasela who both sustained different injuries, among six alterations.

The home side dominated a lot of the ball in the early stages as Dumisani Zuma and Philani Zulu combined to effect down the left flank in the opening 15 minutes.

Zulu then came very close to breaking the deadlock for the hosts in the 27th minute with a cracking left-footed drive that crashed against the crossbar while Ekstein squandered a glorious opportunity moments later.

Against the run of play, Nduduzo Sibiya punished Chiefs with the opening goal for Arrows 11 minutes before the break with a curling strike from the edge of the box that took a deflection off two Chiefs defenders.

Amakhosi were terribly unlucky not to equalise three minutes into the second stanza after Daniel Cardoso crashed the crossbar with a volley in the centre of the box while Moleko was also denied by the woodwork with a header following a cross, both in quick succession.

With Chiefs finding it difficult to create chances, Middendorp made a double-change with 15 minutes remaining as he brought on Joseph Molangoane in place of Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya whilst George Maluleka replaced Andriamirado Andrianarimanana.

Meanwhile, Moleko found the equaliser for the Soweto giants two minutes later with a bullet header inside the box following a corner by Parker, 1-1.

Cardoso almost gave Amakhosi the lead ten minutes before time with a glancing header inside the box that sailed slightly over the open goal.

Both sides were sensing chances to get the winner in the closing stages but they could not find openings as they both walked a way with a point each.


Chiefs: Akpeyi, Frosler, Cardoso, Moleko, Ntiya-Ntiya, Katsande, Zulu, Andrianarimanana, Zuma, Ekstein, Parker.

Subs: Bvuma, Maluleka, Mphahlele, Booysen, Molangoane, Gordinho, Moon.

Arrows: Mbaeva, Sibisi, Bilankulu, Mzava, Lunga, Conco,. Zuke Phiri, Sibiya, Mathenjwa, Mutizwa.

Subs: Gumede, Dube, Zwane, Mathiane, Dube, Lamola.