Absa Premiership match report Maritzburg United v SuperSport United 04 May 2019

Judas Moseamedi
Judas Moseamedi
Maritzburg United boosted their survival hopes with a crucial 3-1 victory over SuperSport United in the penultimate round of the Absa Premiership.
The Team of Choice made only one change from their victory over Black Leopards last Saturday, with Yannick Zakri preferred over Bongokuhle Hlongwane upfront while Matsatsantsa brought in Phumlani Ntshangase and Onismor Bhasera.
Eric Tinkler’s charges got off to a dream start as Mohau Mokate opened the scoring in the fourth minute with a header inside the box following a great delivery by Fortune Makaringe.
Yannick Zakri had a wonderful opportunity to double the lead for Maritzburg on the half-hour mark after goalkeeper Ronwen Williams made an error at the back but the Ivorian striker struck his shot over the bar from close range.
Tinkler’s troops were still threatening to extend their lead in the latter stages of the first stanza but missed some golden chances as Matsatsantsa were lucky to go in to the break on losing by the lone goal.
While Maritzburg enjoyed a quick start in the first half, Kaitano Tembo’s men had a good start early in the second as Aubrey Modiba restored parity two minutes into the second stanza with low strike towards the bottom corner.
The game was got tense after the hour-mark but Tinkler was looking to go all out in attack, which saw the arrival of striker Judas Moseamedi in place of attacking midfielder Mokate with just under 30 minutes to play.
Moseamedi made an immediate impact as he restored Maritzburg’s lead in the 73rd minute after nodding home a cross from the influential Makaringe.

The Maritzburg forward found the insurance goal for the Durban side in the last minute of stoppage time with a neat finish between Williams’ legs for to complete his brace.

As a result, Maritzburg remain at the bottom of the table, but are only a point away from safety with one match remaining on, while SuperSport are unchanged in sixth position.
Maritzburg: Ofori, Xulu, Allie, Ndlovu, Onyango, Makaringe, Timm, Zakri, Mokate, Kateregga, Shandu.

Subs: Mpandle, Kunene, Matsi, De Reucjk, Hlongwane, Moseamedi, Mekoa.
SuperSport: Williams, Nhlapo, Kekana, Daniels, Bhasera, Ntshangase, Mokoena, Modiba, Rusike, Macuphu, Groble.
Subs: Arubi, Lungu, Khumalo, Webber, Lebese, Letsholonyane, Mnyaman.