Absa Premiership match report SuperSport United vs Bidvest Wits 27 April 2019

SuperSport United
SuperSport United

Ten-man SuperSport United and Bidvest Wits played to a 1-1 draw in an Absa Premiership clash filled with late drama on Saturday evening.

After seeing off Black Leopards in midweek, Wits made five changes in Robyn Johannes, Lehlohonolo Nonyane, Vuyo Mere, Haashim Domingo and Gabadinho Mhango.

SuperSport silently grew in the game as the half wore on, but the Clever Biys still managed to get shots off the mark near the area.

The visitors were ahead after 38 minutes when Williams parried Mhango’s shot into the path of Sifiso Hlanti who needed no second invitation to tap home the opener.

SuperSport levelled on the brink of halftime after Clayton Daniels caught the Students napping to head home a corner.

At the restart, United went for an immediate change in Ghampani Lungu who replaced Siyabonga Nhlapo.

Furthermore, Matsatsantsa came close to a second after Aubrey Modiba’s needed a goal-line clearance.

The Tshwane side were reduced to ten men on 65 minutes after Dean Furman received a second booking for dissent.

In the final 20 minutes, Wits looked to regain the lead and called on the services of their top scorer Gift Motupa who replaced Mhango.

Former Wits striker James Keene made his 22nd appearance this season in the final 10 minutes after coming on for Modiba.

Wits were denied what looked like a legitimate goal in the final five minutes after Terrence Dzvukamanja’s shot went over the goal-line, only for the match officials to dismiss the goal.

In the end, the two sides settled for a point apiece with Wits feeling hard done by the legitimate goal as their title chances all but ends.


SuperSport: Williams, Kekana, Daniels, Khumalo, Nhlapo, Furman, Mokoena, Modiba, Rusike, Macuphu, Grobler.

Subs: Arubi, Lungu, Mutale, Webber, Lebese, Letsholonyane, Keene

Wits: Goss, Mere, Mkhwanazi, Johannes, Hlanti, Monare, Alexander, Nonyane, Domingo, Mhango, Murray.

Subs: Keet, Ritchie, Scott, Pelembe, Motupa, Majoro, Dzvukamanja.