Dr Hage Geingob Cup third-place play-off: African Stars vs Orlando Pirates


Following their 3-1 drubbing at the hands of tournament's defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns on Saturday, Bucs suffered their third succesive friendly defeat to the Namibian side.

After being reduced to 10 men midway through the second half, and having coach Muhsin Ertugral also sent off from the touchline, Thabo Matlaba, Happy Jele and Luvuyo Memela all missed from 12 yards out.

Pirates went on the ascendency from the first whistle as Luvuyo Memela picked out the wide run of Riyaad Norodien, who then found Happy Jele on the overlap but the Stars keeper was alert to the danger and thwarted the attack.

Minutes later, Norodien was at it again as he found Ayanda Nkosi in space but the striker was unable to find the target.

Stars eventually managed to break through the Bucs defence, but Jackson Mabonkgwane was left untroubled as the shot flew wide of the mark as the half-time break approached.

Muhsin Ertugral made a striple substitution at the start of the second half, which saw Nkosinathi Mthiyane, Mahlatse Makudubela and Sello Jaftha replaced by Ayanda Gcaba, Thabo Matlaba and Thamsanqa Gabuza.

With no real threat on goal from either side, the match turned into a scrappy midfield battle as both sides conceded needless free-kicks.

Midway through the half Norodien did well to pick out Nyauza, who opted for an audacious lobbed effort but the Stars keeper quicklt recovered to avoid humiliation.

It went pair-shaped for the Soweto side in the 74th minute as debutant Thembela Sikhakhane was sent for an early shower after recieving his second yellow.

Ertugral immediately reacted by pulling off Nkosi to bring on Patrick Phungwayo.

Jele almost pounced on a loose ball in the 84th minute after Norodien's shot was blocked and landed in open space, but the Stars keeper was once again quick to react.

It went from bad to worse for Bucs as Ertgugral then recieved his marching orders from the referee for protests on the sidelines, as the final whistle blew at 0-0.

Pirates XI: Mabokgwane; Sikhakhane (sent off 74'), Jele, Chabalala, Nyauza, Jaftha (Gcaba 45'), Makudubela (Gabuza 45'), Mthiyane (Matlaba 45'), Memela, Norodien, Nkosi (Phungwayo 75').

Subs: Mpontshane, Mhlongo, Gcaba, Gyimah, Phungwayo, Matlaba, Sarr, Manyisa, Makola, Rakhale, Morrison, Gabuza, Ndoro.