DStv Premiership match report Kaizer Chiefs v Royal AM 18 September 2021


Kaizer Chiefs suffered their first home defeat of the DStv Premiership season after 4-1 loss to Royal AM on Saturday evening.

The Amakhosi rang the changes from their loss to Mamelodi Sundowns, with goalkeeper Brandon Peterson and Njabulo Ngcobo given their debuts in place of Bruce Bvuma and 

Royal AM gave their more fancied counterparts a big scare on three minutes after Bafana Bafana international Victor Letsoalo cracked the upright with a snap-shot that bounced out of play.

Chiefs didn’t sit back for long but hit back after nine minutes through a decent attempt from Khama Billiat that dragged wide in the end following a telling cross from Sifiso Hlanti.

The hosts passed up another opportunity before the midway stage as Cole Alexander dinked an enterprising effort wide of the goal with only Nyame to beate.

The Glamour Boys witnessed their missed chances punished by their counterparts ten minutes to halftime after Letsoalo met a delivery to head beyond Peterson.

Chiefs made an injury enforced substitution two minutes to halftime as Anthony Akumu Agay replaced Phathutshedzo Nange, while goalkeeper Hugo Nyame made a double save to deny Njabulo Blom and Samir Nurkovic.

The start of the second half saw the Glamour Boys bombarding the visitors with shots from Alexander and Keagan Dolly particularly, but neither troubled AM.

Royal AM utilised their advantage to good effect and bagged a second late in the half as Letsoalo completed a double with a well-taken free-kick that left Peterson flat-footed.

Chiefs responded with a deflected free-kick with 74 minutes gone from Hlanti after AM couldn’t deal properly with a set-piece that deflected past Peterson.

However, the visitors restored their two-goal cushion after debutant Sibusiso Mabiliso deflected the ball from a loose attempt into his own net.

Royal AM were not done and helped themselves to a fourth goal right at the death from a strike by substitute Mfundo Thikazi, handing the Amakhosi back-to-back defeats in the process.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chiefs: Petersen, Hlanti, Mathoho, Cardoso, Njabulo Ngcobo, Blom, Alexander, Nange, Dolly, Billiat, Nurkovic.

Subs: Bvuma, Frosler, Mabiliso, Dube, Baccus, Agay, Manyama, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Sekgota.

Royal: Nyame, Mkhize, Rikhotso, Lingwati, Monamodi, Mashikinya, Manganyi, Potsane, Mahlasela, Mashiane, Letsoalo.

Subs: Chaine, Masuku, Thikazi, Mabuza, Phalane, George, Mdluli, Sera, Van Der Ross.