DStv Premiership match report Mamelodi Sundowns v TS Galaxy 19 September 2021


Mamelodi Sundowns extended their unbeaten start to the DStv Premiership campaign after defeating TS Galaxy 3-0 on Sunday evening.

Sundowns named a single change from the win over Kaizer Chiefs, as Mosa Lebusa earned a recall in the place of Thapelo Morena.

The Brazilians looked for a solid start earlier on with a shot on the edge of the area by Themba Zwane, but he missed by inches while Galaxy had a goal disallowed for a foul on Denis Onyango at the other end.

A little inside the middle of the first half,  the host carved another opening as a rasping shot outside the area by Kermit Erasmus sailed over following a loose ball from a free-kick.

With the first stanza beginning to slow down, either of the two enjoyed promising spells in particular through Erasmus’s clever shot from point-blank range which the visitors gathered.

Erasmus did not stop posing problems for the visitors and a shot from point-blank range fired the gloves of goalkeeper Vasilije Kolak, whilst Gaston Sirino curled a decent chance wide ahead of halftime.

Sundowns continued pushing and eventually bagged the opening goal 10 minutes into the second half through Lebusa who helped in a rebound from a free-kick by Lyle Lakay following a spill by Kolak.

Namibia international Peter Shalulile doubled their lead within a minute with a calm and composed finish from brilliant bit of play involving Andile Jali.

The Brazilians grabbed a third goal eight minutes to the end with an equally smart finish by substitute Thabiso Kutumela, who also netted his first for the club.

Sundowns successfully managed the closing exchanges to reclaim top spot with back-to-back wins for the first time this season.

Confirmed line-ups:

Sundowns: Onyango, Lebusa, De Reuck, Coetzee, G.Kekana, Lakay, Jali, Zwane, Sirino, Erasmus, Shalulile.

Subs: Pieterse, Mkhulise, Domingo, B. Onyango, Kutumela, Modiba, Maema, Safranko, Vilakazi.

Galaxy: Kolak, M. Mahlangu, Makitan, Bodibe, Seedat, Mbunjana, Brooks, Aubaas, Mbatha, Phohlongo, Macuphu.

Subs: Van Der Linde, Nduli, Munyai, Mokoena, S. Mahlangu, Lakay, Anas, Shelembe, Mngomezulu