DStv Premiership match report Marumo Gallants v Stellenbosch 06 August 2022


Marumo Gallants FC and Stellenbosch FC played to a goalless draw in their DStv Premiership opener on Saturday afternoon.

It was a first outing for new Gallants coach Romain Folz, who started Sede Dion up front as well as Katlego Otladisa whilst Stellies began life without Ashley Du Preez and Zitha Kwinika.

Stellies showed their intentions four minutes gone from a ball by Devon Titus to Junior Mendieta in a promising position, but the Argentine missed target with goal-minder Washington Arubi stationed.

Bahlabane Ba Ntwa sucked up all the early pressure that the visitors threw forth and unsettled the Maroons from the runs on the break by a certain Otladisa.

The Maroons were least bothered by the home side’s upsurge and a delightful three-man interchange saw Titus take hold and struck wide from a decent distance around the area.

Marumo put on a fresh pair of legs after halftime, with former Mamelodi Sundowns and SuperSport United midfielder Lucky Mohomi withdrawn for Thato Khiba.

Steve Barker’s showed faith with the initial playing personnel and continued to unsettle the host from balls in and movements in and around the offensive area.

Although, with lanky forward Judas Moseamedi brought on the deadlocked almost followed after he guided a ball over the top beyond the reach of Arubi.

Stellenbosch looked to settle on the ball in the latter exchanges and had a ball from Fawaaz Basadien trouble the host before they had goalkeeper Sage Stephens called to action.

Further threats either side in the final minutes followed, but nothing worthwhile happened as it finished goalless in Polokwane.

Confirmed line-ups:

Marumo Gallants: Arubi, Nkili, Gumede, Mabotja, Kumalo, Ramphela, Mphambaniso, Mohomi, Otladisa, Sibeko, Dion

Subs: Ngcobo, Hlatshwayo, Manaka, Ravhuhali, Khiba, Ngema, Makudubela, Molangoane, Koapeng.

Stellenbosch: Stephens, De Goede, Basadien, Mcaba, Van Rooyen, Mthethwa, Mendieta, Mgaga, Nduli, Han, Titus

Subs: Langeveldt, Adams, Weaver, Van Wyk, Moseamedi, Letsoenyo, Mngomezulu