DStv Premiership match report Orlando Pirates v Black Leopards 06 May 2021


Pirates head coach Josef Zinnbauer recalled Wayde Jooste, Bongani Sam, Nkanyiso Zungu, Kabelo Dlamni and Tshegofatso Mabasa following the loss to Mamelodi Sundowns.

Pirates unsettled Lidoda Duvha soon after the start and threatened to take the lead courtesy of dangerously looking attempts by Jooste, Deon Hotto and Innocent Maela.

Lidoda Duvha continued to play second fiddle shortly before the half-hour mark, but were let off the hook after Mabasa hoofed a low ball into the area from Jooste way over the top.

The chances still came the Buccaneers’ way as halftime loomed with Dlamini blazing a first-time shot on the edge of the area before Rodney Ramagalela had a look in at the other end.

Leopards however conceded more openings in the final 10 minutes of the stanza as a low shot outside the area from Zungu forced goalkeeper Jonas Mendes to parry whilst Dlamini curled a loose ball wide.

The Buccaneers finally made their dominance count a minute after the break when Mabasa finished off Jooste’s cross for his fourth league goal of the season.

Lidoda Duvha nearly had the equaliser within minutes off a back-post attempt by Roderick Kabwe, but captain Thulani Hlatshwayo made an emphatic goal-line clearance.

The Sea Robbers made it two goals midway through the second half when Mabasa headed a cross-field delivery against the post before going on to finish the rebound for his brace.

Pirates soaked up bits of pressure afterwards and snatched a third goal four minutes from time after Gabadinho Mhango picked up a loose pass to fire beneath Mendes from a tight angle.

The victory moves the Buccaneers back to fourth spot on the table, while Leopards remain stuck at the bottom.

Pirates: Sandilands, Hlatshwayo, Maela, Jooste, Sam, Mabaso, Ndlovu, Zungu, Hotto, Dlamini, Mabasa

Subs: Sithole, Sesane, Mntambo, Mako, Muwowo, Makgaka, Motshwari, Mhango, Monyane

Leopards: Mendes, Sampson, Mashoene, Masia, Gyimah, Makgetlwa, Mthethwa, Ramagalela, Mathenjwa, Karuru, Kabwe.

Subs: Muleka, Matsimbi, Khumalo, Mokoena, Abubakar, Khutlang, Ndlovu, Douhadji, Anas.