DStv Premiership match report Orlando Pirates v Chippa United 14 August 2022


Orlando Pirates were handed their first defeat of the season in the DStv Premiership following a 1-0 loss to Chippa United on Sunday evening.

Thabiso Monyane, Thabang Monare, Deon Hotto, Vincent Pule and Kwame Peprah were the faces brought in by Pirates following their midweek draw at Stellenbosch FC.

Pirates orchestrated the first chance minutes in when a teasing cross right of the area by Thembinkosi Lorch found Peprah, who headed wide of target.

The Chilli Boys offered little in the way of attacks and instead played off on the counter-attack following a deep-lying defensive block on the edge of their opposing area.

However, Pirates nearly reaped dividends from their high-press structure after the half-hour mark where Hotto slammed a through pass from Lorch wide of the bottom-corner.

Chippa responded and almost had the breakthrough when a switch of play had Diego Apollis ran clear of Olisa Ndah and worked a smart save off Richard Ofori from a tight angle just before the break.

Scroll through the gallery to see Orlando Pirates' ins and outs!

Pirates refreshed their front line on 60 minutes with Cameroonian international Bienvenu Eva Nga introduced and Peprah sacrificed as a result.

Although, Nga did little to penetrate the high-defensive structure from Chippa moments after coming on and headed a cross-field ball from Lorch wide.

Lorch was at the fore front of another move a little later when he delivered a delightful cross to the back-post which an unmarked Monare nodded off target.

Then out of nowhere, Chippa broke deadlock with five minutes to go after Abdi Banda headed in from a pin-point corner-kick.

Pirates looked for an instant reply with a powerful shot from Pule, but Chippa goalkeeper Loydt Kazapua saved emphatically and steered his side to the win whilst Jose Riveiro picked up his first loss in charge of the host.

Confirmed line-ups:

Orlando Pirates: Ofori, Ndah, Sibisi, Maela, Hotto, Monare, Mosele, Monyane, Lorch, Pule, Peprah.

Subs: Mpontshane, Nga, Mako, Xoki, Shandu, Tlolane, Dlamini, Motshwari, Timm

Chippa: Kazapua, Kammies, Pietersen?, Pfumbidzai, Luthuli, Chabalala, Poggenpoel, Appollis, Mathiane, Banda, Matrose.

Subs: Prince, Mqokoza, Mbenyane, Maarman, Kambindu, September, Mini, Mduli, Ntsabo.