Stellies extend winless run after Mendieta penalty miss

Stellenbosch FC coach Steve Barker
Stellenbosch FC coach Steve Barker

Stellenbosch FC extended their winless run in the DStv Premiership to five matches after drawing 1-1 with Chippa United on Friday evening.

Forward Sinethemba Mngomezulu started on the bench and Antonio Van Wyk featured, whereas Chippa debuted goalkeeper Stanley Nwabili from the 3-3 draw with Richards Bay FC.

It was a comfortable start to the contest for the Maroons where a corner-kick from Fawaaz Basadien resulted in a loose shot by Devon Titus before he launched in a header off Junior Mendieta’s ball.

Titus was at the heart of another move before the midway stage of the first half from a speculative attempt, but he blazed into the side-netting.

Chippa enjoyed little openings as the Maroons carved out another chance ahead of the break through Mendieta’s telling free-kick outside the area but nothing materialised.

The Chilli Boys pulled out a substitution before the resumption of the second half with Sirgio Kammies introduced and defender Ronald Pfumbidzai sacrificed.

Stellenbosch made their first half dominance count on 51 minutes when Mendieta tucked in from the penalty spot from a coming-together in the attacking area.

Although, the Chilli Boys clawed back ten minutes thereafter as Azola Matrose caught the Maroons out and pounced beyond their opposing number Sage Stephens.

Stellies rallied on despite surrendering the lead and were given another opportunity to reclaim advantage from the spot with six minutes to go, but Nwabili denied Mendieta on this occasion.

Little separated the host and the visitors from the Eastern Cape province ahead of fulltime and 1-1 it finished in the Winelands.

Confirmed line-ups:

Stellenbosch: Stephens, Sibiya, Makhanya, Mendieta, Basadien, Nduli, Adams, Mthethwa, Titus, Van Wyk, Van Rooyen.

Subs: Bombay, Likuta, Sobiech, Mgaga, Mcaba, Mngomezulu, Letsoenyo, Andries, Boji.

Chippa United: Nwabali, Mathiane, Konqobe, Pfumbidzai, Mdunyelwa, Pietersen, Luthuli, Mkhize, Matrose, Lebitso, Ighodaro.

Subs: Kambindu, Maarman, Banda, Myataza, Kammies, Chabalala, Mayo, Poggenpoel, Mbenyane.

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments. 

Click here to register: