Swallows clinch vital win over Chippa

Swallows FC coach Ernst Middendrop
Swallows FC coach Ernst Middendrop

Swallows FC moved away from the relegation zone in the DStv Premiership with a 2-0 win over Chippa United on Friday evening.

Keegan Allan, Strydom Wambi, Tlakusani Mthethwa, Siyabonga Khumalo and Waseem Isaacs were amongst the returnees from the Dube Birds’ loss to Mamelodi Sundowns.

Chippa, who finished the last year with a 1-1 draw at Stellenbosch FC, were under early pressure and needed to block a diving header from Kagiso Malinga into touch and for a corner-kick.

The Chilli Boys looked to hold the home team at bay towards the half-hour mark, but the outfit from Ernst Middendorp refused to back down and stamped authority in the process.

Swallows made the opening ten minutes to the conclusion of the first half when Wambi pounced on a delivery by Isaacs and turned beyond Stanley Nwabili.

After going into the break trailing, Chippa introduced veteran Andile Mbenyane for Ronaldo Maarman before Sirgio Kammies came in for Abdi Banda.

The Dube Birds, who turned to the bench too before the resumption with Pentjie Zulu in for Khumalo, were eager to maintain their slender advantage and pushed the visitors to the edge on all fronts.

Chippa didn’t manage to find openings around the closing period and saw the Dube Birds threaten a second with a flying effort from Malinga.

The latter made amends with well over 20 minutes to play when the lanky forward managed to get onto substitute Zulu’s ball before hitting the net.

Isaacs almost bagged the Dube Birds’ third in the closing exchanges of the encounter, but the bulky forward missed target though the final score was 2-0.

Confirmed line-ups:

Swallows FC: Mbanjwa, Lukhubeni, Sait, Allan, Sasman, Khumalo, Mthethwa, Damons, Malinga, Wambi, Isaacs

Subs: Tshabalala, Zulu, Matsheke, Sibiya, Mtshali, Musonda, Makua, Mngonyama

Chippa United:  Nwabali, Mdunyelwa, Banda, Pietersen, Matrose, Mkhize, Maarman, Mathiane, Lebitso, Luthuli, Ighodaro.

Subs: Myataza, Chabalala, Kammies, Ntsabo, Poggenpoel, Konqobe, Mayo, Kambidu, Mbenyane.

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments. 

Click here to register: https://www.snl24.com/auth/signin