DStv Premiership match report TS Galaxy v Cape Town City 27 November 2021


TS Galaxy fought back on two occasions to secure a 2-2 draw against Cape Town City on Saturday afternoon.

The Citizens decided to hand Relebogile Mokhuoane and Craig Marting a run, while Galaxy decided to name one change from the win over Swallows FC in Sihle Ndluli.

Eric Tinkler’s charges made the best possible start in the opening minute when Mduduzi Mdantsane volleyed into the top corner after the host failed to deal with a telling delivery.

Although, the lead lasted just two minutes as the Rockets drew themselves back on level terms through a smart finish from Mxolisi Macuphu.

The Rockets threatened to retake the lead close to the midway point through Ethan Brooks’s near post attempt from a ball on the right-side, but it was saved by goalkeeper Hugo Marques.

City didn’t lose shape despite the home side’s intentions and had a move to the area from Fagrie Lakay on the half-hour mark link up with Surprise Ralani for a crack, but he went wide.

The Citizens continued to see the lion share of chances with the second half underway, as the Rockets remained within the context of play.

Tinkler’s boys made their dominant spell count near the closing stages when goalkeeper Vasilije Kolak fluffed a floating cross from Lakay straight to Mdantsane to complete his brace.

The former Baroka FC man could’ve gone on to a hat-trick of strikes within a minute, but from point-blank range he dragged way over target.

Galaxy remained on the edge near the latter minutes, as City looked for a third through Craig Martin from a ball by Mdantsane but he missed target.

The Rockets claimed the leveller in the dying minutes when Wayde Lekay ran into the area to tap in a cross from the right by Marks Munyai, as it finished all square.

Confirmed line ups:

Galaxy: Kolak, Makitan, Seedat. Munyai, Nduli, Aubaas, Brooks, Mahlangu, Nyama, Macuphu, Mngomezulu.

Subs: Heugh, Mbunjana, Mahlangu, Mbatha, Bodibe, Phohlongo, Filipetto, Ndwandwe, Lekay.

Cape Town City: Hugo, Mkhize, Fasika,  Fielies, Mashego, Mokhuoane, Makola, Mdantsane, Ralani, Martin, Lakay.

Subs: Mpandle, Mobara,  Mayo, Dove, Cupido, Mapfumo, Goedeman,  Roberts, Nodada.