Bafana squad stats Gordon Igesund Letsholonyane Zungu


After the news broke of Kamohelo Mokotjo’s injury earlier this week, Gordon Igesund revealed he was planning to start with him and Dean Furman in defensive midfield.

In the absence of the young PEC Zwolle star, Igesund has the option to go more defensive, with Reneilwe Letsholonyane, or pick a team with a more attacking frame of mind, in which case Bongani Zungu moves into contention.

So who of those two options should Igesund pick?

‘Yeye’ has the experience – in bucketloads – but the 21-year-old Mamelodi Sundowns star is definitely the option where ‘Project 2018’ is concerned. After an analysis of the stats, it turns out ‘Sjumba’ also comes out on top on current form.

This season, Letsholonyane has one assist in nine matches, while Zungu has a goal and two assists in six matches.

Zungu makes an average of 32 passes per match while Letsholonyane makes 53, but the former pips the latter on successful passes: Zungu’s are 82.5% successful while Letsholonyane’s are 81%.

The Chiefs man takes an average of 1.13 shots per match, with an average of 0.25 on target.

Zungu fares slightly better in the attacking stakes. He takes an average of 1.8 shots per game for Sundowns, with an average of one on target, while his average of 1.2 crosses per match is also much more impressive than Letsholoyane’s 0.13.

In the tackling stakes the two are more or less equally matched, with Zungu making 2.6 tackles per match and being tackled 3.2 times, while Letsholonyane makes an average of 2.75 and gets tackled 2.38.

Of course, Igesund does have a few more options in midfield, and may even decide to give a first cap to either Sibusiso Vilakazi or Keagan Dolly.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (c) (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (KV Kortrijk, Belgium)

Defenders: Anele Ngcongca (Genk, Belgium), Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Bongani Khumalo (Doncaster Rovers, English Championship), Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi (University of Pretoria), Siyanda Xulu (FC Rostov, Russia), Kgosi Ntlhe (Peterborough United, English League 1)

Midfielders: Kamohelo Mokotjo (PEC Zwolle, Holland), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace, England) – both withdrawn owing to injury, Bongani Zungu (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits), Ayanda Patosi (Lokeren, Belgium), Daylon Claasen (Lech Poznan, Poland), Keagan Dolly (Ajax Cape Town), Dean Furman (Doncaster Rovers, English Championship), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows)

Strikers: Tokelo Rantie (Bournemouth, English Championship), Kermit Erasmus (Orlando Pirates), Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)