Ronaldo, Bale and Griezmann nominated for Uefa Best Player award, Messi misses out


Barcelona talisman Lionel Messi did not crack the top three, in fact he was bumped down to fifth by Barca teammate Luis Suarez.

Lionel Messi won the award last year with Portugal captain Ronaldo having picked up the accolade in 2014. 

The outcome is determined by a vote that polls journalists from Uefa's member stations.

The remainder of the list, outside of the top three, reads as follows:

4 Luis Suarez (Barcelona & Uruguay)

5 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina)

6 Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy)

7 Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal)

8 Manuel Neuer (Bayern München & Germany)

9 Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany)

10 Thomas Müller (Bayern München & Germany)