SAFA Referees Review Committee rules Samir Nurkovic goal against Sundowns as onside

accreditation

The SAFA Referees Review Committee has handed down their verdict on the debated goal scored by Kaizer Chiefs striker Samir Nurkovic against Mamelodi Sundowns.

Nurkovic opened the scoring early in his side's 2-0 win over Chiefs on Sunday and it looked like he may have been in an offside position.

However, following a review of the incident, SAFA have backed the decision on the day and stated that referee Victor Hlungwani was correct in allowing the goal to stand.

READ: Ernst: What the hell are we doing? 

"During the match, when Kaizer Chiefs’ Reeve Frosler played the ball into the opponents’ penalty area, both Chiefs’ Leonardo Castro and Samir Nurkovic were not in an offside position. Sundowns’ Musa Lebusa and Chiefs’ Castro jumped to head the ball but both missed it,” explained the Review Committee.

"Castro neither played nor touched the ball from his team-mate, Frosler and this is evidenced by the fact that the ball never changed direction nor the trajectory.

READ: Ernst opens up on Pitso, police incident

"Nurkovic, who was not in an offside position when the ball was initially played by his teammate Frosler, and that Castro did not make contact with the ball, the Assistant Referee was correct in not flagging for offside, based on fact connected with Law 11 [Offside].

"It then stands to reason that Nurkovic scored a legitimate goal. It would have been a different decision had his teammate Castro played or touched the ball, then the goal would have been disallowed in that instance."

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane was left frustrated after the match and claimed the goal was offside. He has since been furnished with a letter from the PSL to explain his recent comments about match officials.

READ: Three choices for Pitso over PSL charge