Shell Helix Ultra Cup match report Kaizer Chiefs v Mamelodi Sundown 12 October 2019

Mamelod Sundowns
Mamelod Sundowns

Kaizer Chiefs claimed their first Shell Helix Ultra Cup title after defeating Mamelodi Sundowns 4-2 at the FNB Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Tokelo Rantie made his long-awaited Masandawana debut as did full-back Harold Majadibodu, while Ernst Middendorp named a strong side for the clash, with Castro and Khama Billiat leading the line

The duo combined to get the opener on nine minutes as Castro tapped into an empty net after Billiat cracked the post from a clear one-on-one opportunity whilst beating the offside trap.

Castro grabbed a double on the half-hour mark with another tap-in from another Billiat effort which Reyaad Pieterse parried into the Colombian’s path.

Sundowns had nothing going good for them and there were dealt a blow three minutes before the break as Oupa Manyisa became the game’s first casualty due to injury and was replaced by Hlompho Kekana.

Masandawana’s misery deepened on the stroke of halftime when Castro leaped high to nod into the bottom corner from Billiat’s delivery to grab his hat-trick. A minuter later, Billiat got in on the act a minute later with a first-time volley past Pieterse following Castro’s pin-point supply.

Changes on and off the field at either end opened the second half as Jose Ali Meza and Tebogo Langerman ran out for Downs with Kgotso Moleko and Kabelo Mahlasela brought on for Chiefs.

Masandawana reduced the tally after 60 minutes when Daniel Akpeyi parried Gaston Sirino’s curl firmly into the path of Meza, who needed no second invitation.

Akpeyi redeemed himself with a last-ditch palm from Kekana’s header following a free-kick later on, upping pressure on Chiefs.

Sundowns continued attacking near full-time, and netted a second through Sirino who fired home from the penalty spot in added time after Lakay went down in the area with the final kick of the game.

The Amakhosi picked up their first ever Shell Helix Ultra Cup title to stand in good stead for Sunday’s Macufe Cup battle with Bloemfontein Celtic.


Chiefs: Akpeyi, Sasman, Cardoso, Blom, Zulu, Katsande, Baccus, Manyama, Zuma, Billiat, Castro.

Subs: Bvuma, Moleko, Gordinho, Mphahlele, Matsheke, Ntshangase, Mahlasela, Kotei, Radbe, Lesako, Parker, Twala, Sifama, Gqezenele.

Sundowns: Pieterse, Majadibudo, Lakay, Arendse, Coetzee, Seabi, Jali, Manyisa, Mkhulise, Ngoma, Rantie.

Subs: Mweene, Ngcobo, Ngcongca, Affonso, Mdhluli, Langerman, Kekana, Sirino, Lukhubeni, Mkhuma, Meza, Vilakazi.