National under-23 coach David Notoane announces his final squad and names Tercious Malepe as captain


Notoane named a provisional squad last week, but has now selected a final squad to take on their Southern African rivals.

Kaizer Chiefs’ Reeve Frosler, who has not had any competitive action this season, has been left out of the squad, having been included in the provisional side. Highlands Park's Given Msimango has also been left out. 

Khanyisa Mayo, who was not in the provisional squad, has been brought into the team, so too Bloemfontein Celtic left back Bongani Sam. 

“It was a very difficult task of selecting the final 23-man players to take to Angola, and that is mainly because we had a good number of players who gave it their all in this selection camp,” Notoane told the SAFA website.

“We assessed the level of match preparedness in the players we had roped in for our provisional squad, and I must say that I am happy with the final squad we have come up with.”

Chippa United’s Tercious Malepe will captain the side.


Goalkeepers: Darren Johnson (Ajax Cape Town), Khulekani Kubheka (Cape Umoya FC), Andile Mbanjwana (Richards Bay FC)

Defenders: Thendo Mukumela (Ajax Cape Town), Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City FC), Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Kabelo Seriba (FC Metta, Latvia), Katlego Mohamme (Supersport United), Sandile Mthethwa (Richards Bay FC), Bongani Sam (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United), Athenkosi Dlala (Supersport United), Tercious Malepe (Chippa United), Gift Links (Cape Town FC), Kamohelo Mahlatsi (SuperSport United), Grant Margeman (Ajax Cape Town), Jamie Webber (SuperSport United), Thabo Cele (Cova da Piedade FC, Portugal)

Forwards: Luther Singh (GD Chaves FC, Portugal), Phakamani Mahlambi (Sundowns), Lyle  Foster (AS Monaco FC, France), Jemondre Dickens (Baroka FC), Keletso Makgalwa (Sundowns), Khanyisa Mayo (Royals Eagles FC)

Show Comments ()