Santana names strong squad


The Brazilian has named an enlarged 25-man squad because of minor injuries to some of the selected players and due to the fact that Bafana Bafana have four qualifiers lined-up in June.

The biggest surprise is the call-up of Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Gerald Sibeko, given the player’s below-par performances this season, while the most notable omission is that of regular central defender Nasief Morris.

The squad will head into camp next Monday at OR Tambo airport and will leave for Nigeria next Friday.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Rowen Fernandez (Arminia Bielefeld, Germany), Moeneeb Josephs (BidVest Wits)

Defenders: Aaron Mokoena (Blackburn Rovers, England), Bongani Khumalo (Supersport United), Mokete Tsotetsi (Kaizer Chiefs), Bryce Moon (Ajax Cape Town), Bevan Fransman (Moroka Swallows), Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Innocent Mdledle (Orlando Pirates), Siboniso Gaxa (Supersport United), Benson Mhlongo (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielders: Lance Davids (FC Djurgardens, Sweden), MacBeth Sibaya (Ruban Kazan, Russia), Delron Buckley (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Surprise Moriri (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kagiso Dikgacoi (Golden Arrows), Steven Pienaar (Everton, England), Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates), Gerald Sibeko (Kaizer Chiefs), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs)

Strikers: Excellent Walaza (Orlando Pirates), Thembinkosi Fanteni (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Katlego Mashego (Supersport United), Benni McCarthy (Blackburn Rovers, England)