Sudan claim 2007 Cecafa Cup


The match had ended 2-2 after extra time and Sudan – the only team from the region to qualify for MTN Africa Cup of Nations in Ghana next year – showed their nerve to win the shootout 4-2 and walk away with $30 000 (R210 000) prize-money.

Sudan fielded virtually a second-string side, made up mostly of players from their Under-23 team, as players from the top two club sides, El-Merrickh and Al-Hilal, stayed behind to contest the domestic Cup Final.

But in striker Abdelhamid Amarria, the tournament’s top-scorer with six goals, they had a potent weapon and he and Modather Eltaab had given Sudan a two goal lead inside the hour

But Rwanda hit back through Harouna Niyonzima and substitute Abed Mulenda to force the game into extra time and eventually penalties, though it was the Sudanese who triumphed from the spot-kicks.

Earlier, a brace from Hamis Kitagenda (68th and 89th minutes) saw the Uganda Cranes skip past Burundi into third place and pick up the consolation prize of $10 000 (R70 000).

It was not enough to stop Cranes Hungarian-born coach, Lazslo Csaba, taking a swipe at the referees however, following Uganda’s semifinal defeat to the Rwandans.

“I am angry that we are not playing in the Final,” he told “These referees pushed Rwanda into the Final by failing to send off one of their players, Donacien Tuyizera, who committed two bookable offences, and denied Kitagenda a goal with a wrong offside.”

Uganda will host to next year’s tournament.

2007 Cecafa Cup Top Scorers6 - Abdelhamid Amarria (Sudan)5 - Hamis Kitagenda (Uganda)4 - Berhane Aregay (Eritrea), Bokota Kamana (Rwanda)3 - Allan Wanga (Kenya)

Cecafa Cup Previous Winners 9 Uganda (1973, 1976, 1977, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2003)5 Kenya (1975, 1981, 1982, 1983, 2002) 4 Ethiopia (1987, 2001, 2004, 2005) 3 Malawi (1978, 1979, 1988) 2 Zambia (1984, 1991) 2 Tanzania (1974, 1994) 3 Sudan (1980, 2006, 2007) 1 Rwanda (1999) 1 Zimbabwe (1985) 1 Zanzibar (1995)