Sunday's awards bonanza live on TV


This glitzy awards evening will be televised live across the country through SuperSport International on SuperSport 3, as well as on SABC Sport on SABC 1.

For the first time since its inception, the PSL will host the awards which will feature the competitions and tournaments held in the 2007/2008 season. These include the Absa Premiership, the Nedbank Cup, the Telkom Knockout as well as the Telkom Charity.

  • Absa Premiership Player of the Season worth R 150 000

  • Absa Premiership Players Player of the Season worth R 150 000

  • Absa Premiership Coach of the Season worth R 75 000

  • Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season worth R 50 000

  • Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer of the Season (Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot Award)

  • Absa – lutely Awesome Goal of the Season worth R 50 000

  • Most Promising Player of the Tournament worth R25 000

  • Player of the Tournament worth R 100 000The Telkom Knockout will feature the following individual award:

  • Player of the tournament worth R 200 000.

    And to cap off the evening of celebrations, the PSL will also make its own awards for the first time in its history.

    The Footballer of the Year will be given to the player who has impressed through all their tournaments and competitions this season.

    An award will also be given to the Referee of the Year as well as Assistant Referee of the Year.

    There will also be a Chairman’s award given to the person who has excelled in professional football during the 2007/2008 season. This award will be personally done by PSL chairman, Dr Irvin Khoza.

    “With all the preparation and planning gone into this event, it’s going to be a true spectacle honouring the finest footballers in this country,” says PSL CEO, Kjetil Siem.

    “It’s a great way to round off a truly wonderful season and I wish all the nominees the best of luck as we eagerly await the winners,” added Siem.

    The two hour long event will kick-off at 8pm.