Supersport will find AmaZulu tough at home


Kick off is at 15h00.

Matsatsantsa’s closest challengers, Ajax Cape Town, are not in action this weekend, giving the Tshwane team a chance to move four points clear and stamp their authority on the PSL.

In their last league outing on March 23, Supersport tore Free State Stars apart, winning 6-1 to end Ajax’s long run at the head of the table and assume pole position in the race to be the first Absa Premiership champions.

And their form over the past few months certainly suggests they have what it takes: unbeaten in 10 league games since late December 2007, picking up 26 out of a possible 30 points.

AmaZulu, however, will be tricky opponents, particularly at home.

Usuthu head into the match fresh from hammering Vasco Da Gama 5-0 in the Nedbank Cup; this after the 14-0 dismantling of Young Ones in the first round.

In between those two cup games AmaZulu were beaten 1-0 by Kaizer Chiefs, but Clive Barker’s team are a dangerous unit that could well put a spanner in the works as far as United’s title push is concerned.

Their strike pairing of Dumisani Ngwenya (who has scored seven goals in their two cup games) and Siyabonga Mkhwanazi will need to be closely watched by Supersport’s usually thrifty defence.

AmaZulu:Date H/A Opponent Result21/03/08 A Kaizer Chiefs L 0-109/03/08 H Jomo Cosmos D 0-005/03/08 A Thanda Royal Zulu W 2-101/03/08 H Black Leopards W 2-024/02/08 A Black Leopards L 2-3

Supersport:23/03/08 H Free State Stars W 6-109/03/08 A Platinum Stars W 2-004/03/08 H Ajax Cape Town W 3-229/02/08 A BidVest Wits D 0-023/02/08 A Kaizer Chiefs W 1-0

HEAD-TO-HEAD STATS:League meetings since 1996/97:

1996/97Supersport 1 (E. Motale) AmaZulu 0AmaZulu 2 (Lewis, Chilumba (pen)) Supersport 1 (Seale)

1997/98AmaZulu 3 (Murisa 2, Mokoena) Supersport 0Supersport 1 (Barker) AmaZulu 1 (Ndwandwe)

1998/99AmaZulu 2 (Magagula, Marumo) Supersport 2 (Salmon, Makinta)Supersport 2 (Mrewa 2) AmaZulu 0

1999/2000SuperSport 1 (Orritt) AmaZulu 0AmaZulu 2 (Lungu, Sofiadellis) Supersport 7 (Seopa, Araujo, Notoane 2, Bang-Penda 2, Greyling)

2001/02Supersport 1 (Mayo) AmaZulu 0AmaZulu 2 (Mchunu, Seli) Supersport 3 (Khoabane, Zwane, Mayo)

2003/04Zulu Royals 0 Supersport 3 (Raselemane, Matsau 2)Supersport 8 (Katza 2, Zwane, Johnson (pen), Masina, Matsau 2, Ferreira) Zulu Royals 1 (Mkhize)

2006/07Supersport 2 (Chamanga, Katza) AmaZulu 0AmaZulu 1 (Ngxabi) Supersport 1 (Mahlangu)

2007/08Supersport 1 (Katza) AmaZulu 0