Ten-man Guinea down Morocco


Pascal Feindouno was hero-turned-villain in this one, with the St. Etienne striker facing a suspension, after being sent off, from their next match that is vital for his side to qualify for the next stage.

Morocco looked the better side early on, with Sektioui looking particularly dangerous, but Guinea took the lead against the run of play.

This was largely down to Fouhami the Moroccan goalkeeper, who hardly moved when Feindouno scored with a direct free-kick and could have done better.

A long-range effort from Hadji was well held by Camara, was about the best Morocco could manage by way of finding an equaliser.

Hadji threatened with a long-range shot which was brilliantly saved by Camara, just after the break, while Zerka volleyed over the bar from close-range.

Bangoura gave his side a 2-0 lead just before the hour mark when Feindouno passed to Bangoura who scored with a shot from close-range.

Morocco pulled a goal back seconds later when Aboucheroaune scored with a long-range shot to make it 2-1.

Guinea were awarded a penalty in the 63rd minute when Michael Chretien pulls back Souleymane Youla in the area. Feindouno scored with the penalty.

In the 67th minute Feindouno was shown a straight red card after hacking down El Armine Erbate.

Morocco pulled a goal back in the 90th minute when Abdeslam Ouaddou scored with a header but it was too late as Guinea held out for the win.

Guinea 3 - Pascal Feindouno 11'(Direct Free-kick), Ismael Bangoura 59'(assist-Pascal Feindouno), Pascal Feindouno 63' (pen)

Morocco 2 - Hicham Aboucherouane 60'(shot), Abdeslam Ouaddou 90' (assist-Abdelkrim Kissi)

Yellow cards: Karamoko Cisse (18'), Souleymane Youla (32')

Red cards: Pascal Feindouno (67')

Guinea: 16-Kemoko Camara05-Dianbobo Balde03-Ibrahima Camara (Kamil Zayatte 81)21-Daouda Jabi15-Oumar Kalabane04-Mohamed Cisse02-Pascal Feindouno08-Kanfory Sylla10-Ismael Bangoura07-Fode Mansare (ohamed Sacko 79')11-Souleymane Youla (Karamoko Cisse 76')

Morocco: 12-Khalid Fouhami02-Michael Chretien06-El Armine Erbate04-Abdeslam Ouaddou21-Badr El Kaddouri13-Houssine Kharja (Hicham Aboucherouane 55')08-Abdelkrim Kissi15-Youssef Safri 10-Tarik Sektioui20-Youssef Hadji11-Moncef Zerka (Bouchabib El Moubarki 80')

Referee: Damon Jérôme (South Africa)