Union to elect new leadership on Sunday


Safpu media officer Elvis Sekgobela confirms that 128 players from the Absa Premiership and the First Division will participate at the event.

The 32 clubs will send four representatives each.

Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Brian Baloyi is the current Safpu president while his teammate Peter Ndlovu and Platinum Stars striker Simba Marumo are the first and second vice presidents respectively.

Sekgobela says the decision to re-elect the trio or elect a new leadership rests with the players.

Apart from the elections, the adoption of amendments of constitution as per the last congress held three years ago, and the tabling of the organisation’s financial report will be done at the three-day congress.

Among officials that will grace the event is Gauteng MEC for Sport, Recreation and Culture, Barbara Creecy, as well as officials from Congress of South Africa Trade Unions, Young Communist League and the ANC youth league.

“Preparations for the congress, which will be held at the Birchwood Hotel in Ekurhuleni, are progressing well,” Sekgobela tells snl24.com/kickoff.

To play our Euro 2008 Toyota Fantasy League, click here!

Or to try our Predictor Game, click here!