Van Basten names provisional squad


The Netherlands coach had played down speculation of any last-minute changes to the core of the squad which actually led the Oranje to the competition’s Last 16. And he also called up as many players as he had hinted on.

However, some of the 30 footballers pre-selected will probably not enjoy a decent night’s sleep until May 16, when Van Basten and his assistant John van’t Schip will cut this provisional party down to a maximum of 26 players.

Those who will make it are scheduled to team up with the coaching staff four days later, although two of them could travel to Noordwijk a little later on.

Besides Edwin van der Sar, whose Manchester United will face off with Chelsea in the European Champions League final in Moscow, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink won’t be available until after May 22, when Celtic will visit Dundee United for the final – and probably crucial - round of Premier League matches.

Van Basten is obliged to hand over his final 23-man list to Uefa on May 28 at the latest.

Goalkeepers: Sander Boschker (Twente), Van der Sar (Manchester United), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Henk Timmer (Feyenoord).

Defenders: Fred Bouma (Villa), Tim de Cler (Feyenoord), Urby Emanuelson, Johnny Heitinga (both Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ), Joris Mathijsen (HSV), Mario Melchiot (Wigan Athletic), André Ooijer (Blackburn Rovers).

Midfielders: Ibi Afellay (PSV Eindhoven), Gio van Bronckhorst, Denny Landzaat (both Feyenoord), Orlando Engelaar (Twente), Nigel de Jong, Rafael van der Vaart (HSV), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia), Clarence Seedorf (Milan), Wes Sneijder (Real Madrid), Demy de Zeeuw (AZ).

Forwards: Ryan Babel, Dirk Kuyt (both Liverpool), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Danny Koevermans (PSV Eindhoven), Ruud van Nistelrooy, Arjen Robben (both Real Madrid), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Vennegoor of Hesselink (Celtic).

Feedback & Complaints

Got something on your mind? Get in touch!

Get in touch!
Blow the whistle

Do you have a news tip or story you would like to share with KickOff?

Email our news team
Match Centre
All Tournaments
Live Scores
South Africa Premier League