Vodacom play-offs - decision expected today


Since its inception only the winners of the provincial leagues have played off for a place in the national first division.

However, the clubs were informed earlier this year by Safa that the runners-up in each province would also be included in the playoffs.

After subsequently being told that is not the case and that the status quo would remain, the nine clubs threatened legal action, however they later agreed to have the matter decided by arbitration.

According to Safa competitions committee chairman Mandla Mazibuko, the document informing the clubs that the runners-up would be included was not sent “through the proper channels of Safa headquarters and therefore cannot be judged to be an official document”.

Mazibuko said the nine teams had agreed to abide by the outcome of the arbitration decision instead of going to court.

The nine provincial winners are Bush Bucks (Eastern Province), Vasco da Gama (Western Cape), William Pescod (Northern Cape), Island FC (Kwaxulu Natal), M Tigers (Gauteng), Carara Kicks (Free State) Classic (Limpopo), City of Matlosana (North West) and Barberton City Stars (Mapumalanga).

The tournament will be played in Potchefstroom and Klerksdorp starting on Sunday, with the finals scheduled for the following Sunday.