Zambia's preparations hit snag


The match was tentatively set to be played in Portugal at the start of the New Year, where Angola will face Egypt on January 13 after Zambia play Andalusia on December 27 in Jerez.

With that development, it means Zambia go back to their scheduled three friendly matches ahead of the tournament, with the other two coming on January 6 and 12 away to Tunisia and Morocco respectively.

Zambia departs for Spain on December 25 and will be camped on the Iberian Peninsula until January 3, when they leave for Tunisia.

Meanwhile, former Orlando Pirates Midfielder Isaac Chansa has joined the squad at its Lusaka training camp.

Chansa, of Swedish club Helsingborg, joined the team this morning. His arrival brings to 18 the number of players in camp with defender Elijah Tana of El Merriekh in Sudan expected to join the team tomorrow.

The midfielder is the sixth foreign-based player to join the team so far, but there are still doubts over the fitness of Collins Mbesuma, who is reported to be working his way back to fitness at Bursaspor in Turkey.

The South African-based contingent is only expected to join camp on Monday after doing duty for their respective clubs at the weekend. They are Kennedy Mweene and Kampamba Chintu (both Free State Stars), Kalilo Kakonje (Nathi Lions), Joseph Musonda and Billy Mwanza (both Golden Arrows) and Clifford Mulenga (University of Pretoria).

Goalkeepers: Mike Poto (Green Buffaloes), Charles Chileshe (Forest Rangers).

Defenders: Clive Hachilensa (IFK Mariehamn, Finland), William Chinyama, Rogers Kamwandi (both Zesco United), Kennedy Nketani (Zanaco), Elijah Tana (El Merreikh, Sudan), Hichani Himoonde (Lusaka Dynamos).

Midfielders: Isaac Chansa (Helsingborg, Sweden), Rainford Kalaba (Zesco United), Francis Kasonde, Kennedy Mudenda (both Power Dynamos), William Njobvu (Lusaka Dynamos), Felix Katongo (Petro Athletico, Angola), Ian Bakala (Desportivo Premeira Agosto, Angola).

Strikers: Christopher Katongo (Brondby, Denmark), Dube Phiri (Desportivo Premeira Agosto, Angola), Emmanuel Mayuka (Kabwe Warriors), Ignatius Lwipa (Zanaco)