Zambia's provisional Afcon squad


Phiri has picked three players from the Under-20 team that competed at the 2007 Fifa Youth World Championship in Canada and included three from Peter Kaumba’s Under-23 squad.

Scoring machine Emmanuel Mayuka and William Njobvu have been roped in from the Under-20s while goalkeeper Kalililo Kakonje, midfielder Francis Kasonde and striker Felix Sunzu, Junior, have been drafted into Phiri’s contingent from the Under-23s.

University of Pretoria winger Clifford Mulenga who sat on the sidelines at the 2006 edition in Egypt because of injury, bounced back and defence bulwark Elijah Tana, based in Sudan, has also been recalled after missingtwo qualifiers to Ghana.

Phiri has maintained faith in Moses Sichone and Andrew Sinkala, both based in Germany while his strike force will have Jacob Mulenga of Stransborg Racing in France, Collins Mbesuma of Bursaspor in Turkey including skipper Christopher Katongo who plies his trade for Brondby IF in Denmark.

Adubelo Phiri who has had a quiet season at Angola's Desportivo Premeira Agosto has made the team together with Ignatius Lwipa whose season at local side Zanaco has been a struggle.

The team consists of 17 foreign-based players.

Phiri said the team would go into residential camp in Lusaka next week and would be trimmed to 25 before departure to Ghana.

Zambia will be making their 13th appearance at the biennial championship without any success, the closestbeing losing finalists in 1974 and 1994.

In Group C with record holders and champions Egypt, four-time winners Cameroon and Sudan, Zambia must blaze their guns to go past the preliminary round which has been their elimination stage since 1998.

Goalkeepers: Kennedy Mweene (Free State Stars, South Africa), Kalililo Kakonje (Nathi Lions, South Africa), Mike Poto (Green Buffaloes).

Defenders: Clive Hachilensa (IFK Manriehamn (Finland), William Chinyama, Rodgers Kamwandi (both Zesco United), Kennedy Nketani (Zanaco), Joseph Musonda, Billy Mwanza (both Golden Arrows, South Africa), Chintu Kampamba (Free State Stars, South Africa), Elijah Tana El Merreikh, Sudan), Moses Sichone (Kickers Offenbach, Germany)

Midfielders: Andrew Sinkala (Paderborn 07, Germany), Isaac Chansa (Helsinburg, Sweden) (Rainford Kalaba (Zesco), Kennedy Mudenda (Power Dynamos), William Njobvu (Lusaka Dynamos), Clifford Mulenga (Pretoria University, South Africa), Felix Katongo, Ian Bakala (Desportivo Premeira Agosto), Francis Kasonde (Power)

Strikers: Christopher Katongo (Brondby IF, Denmark), Collins Mbesuma (Bursaspor, Turkey), Jacob Mulenga (Stransboug Racing, France), Adubelo Phiri (Desportivo Premeira Agosto), Felix Sunzu (Konkola Blades), Emmanuel Mayuka (Kabwe Warriors) and Ignatius Lwip (Zanaco).