'Ronaldo said he DID get a touch of the ball for Bruno goal'

Cristiano Ronaldo and Bruno Fernandes
Cristiano Ronaldo and Bruno Fernandes

It has been claimed that Portugal superstar Cristiano Ronaldo told at least one certain friend that he did get a touch of the ball for his country's opening goal against Uruguay on Monday night, despite the strike being credited to his compatriot Bruno Fernandes. 

With A Selecao securing their place in the knockout stages after their 2-0 victory over the South Americans, one of the key talking points that emerged from the match was the first goal of the game, which came from a Fernandes cross that ended up in the back of the net, although it appeared to touch the head of a leaping Ronaldo in the process.

Read: Ronaldo receives huge £186 million offer

The ex-Real Madrid talisman wheeled away in celebration after the ball hit the back of the net, but upon a review, it was ruled that the goal belonged to Fernandes instead. 

The Manchester United midfielder sealed his brace from the penalty spot in stoppage time, meaning he has now been directly involved in eight goals (five strikes and three assists) in his past five appearances for his country.

However, Ronaldo is now said to have texted his friend and British broadcaster Piers Morgan – with whom he had an explosive interview two weeks ago that effectively led to his exit from the Red Devils last week – after the match to tell him that he did, in fact, make contact with the ball for Portugal's first goal in the Group H tie. 

Get to a Dunns store now for exclusive Vivo deals!

"The breaking news is that Cristiano Ronaldo did not score despite his claims that it did touch him," ex-United States of America captain Alexi Lalas told Fox Soccer, per the Daily Mail.

"I was just with Piers Morgan and he said that Cristiano texted him from the locker room saying that he believes that it touched his head.

"So, uhm, who knows."

Fernandes later revealed that he wasn't too concerned about who goal was credited to it was as the result was more important. 

"I don't really think it matters who scored," the 28-year-old said about the first goal.

"The feeling at the time was that he (Ronaldo) touched the ball I was crossing it to him but what's important was we moved into the next round and beat a very big opponent."

Read: FIFA to punish Mbappe after ignored warning?

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments.

Click here to register!


Show Comments ()