UEFA Super Cup match report Bayern Munich v Sevilla


Bayern Munich added another trophy to their cabinet after seeing off Sevilla to claim the UEFA Super Cup on Thursday evening.

Bayern came to the game without Kingsley Coman, who had to self-isolate after coming into contact with someone who had contract the coronavirus, while Ivan Rakitic kicked off his second spell with Sevilla following his arrival from FC Barcelona.

The all-conquering Bayern were given a rude awakening 13 minutes in after David Alaba gave away a penalty following a push on Luuk de Jong, with Lucas Ocampos doing the honours from 12-yards.

The Bundesliga giants looked for an immediate response following the half-hour mark as Robert Lewandowski ran onto a ball over the top to go level with Yassine Bounou, but the Polish striker couldn’t capitalise.

Sevilla's resilience eventually broke on 34 minutes after a spell of passes around their area found Lewandowski who delivered a cutback for an unmarked Leon Goretzka to do the rest.

Bayern looked to have restored the lead just after halftime when Lewandowski played a one-two with Muller to tap into an empty net but after a review, the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) ruled an offside.

The Bavarians had the ball in the net for the second time moments later following a first-time strike from Leroy Sane off a loose ball in the box, but it was once again disallowed following a foul.

Sevilla had a big chance to seal the win late on when Youssef En-Nesyri ran onto a loose ball to go level with Neuer, who pulled off a stunning outstretched save.

No winner emerged and the match would be decided in extra time, as Neuer helped En-Nesyri’s close-range shot onto the post on 91 minutes whist Bayern introduced Javier Martinez late on.

Having survived the storm, Bayern regained the lead on 104 minutes when Martinez connected with a loose ball in the six-yard box to head home.

Lewandowski missed a chance to wrap up the contest late on, but it didn't matter as the Bavarians held on to claim their first trophy of the 2020/2021 season.

Show Comments ()